College Locator
If you are in Virginia, you are just 30 miles from a community college.
Here are the community colleges closest to
Home > About > Where We Are > Newsroom > Three new presidents begin work at community colleges



MEDIA CONTACT: Jeffrey J. Kraus
Asst. Vice Chancellor, Public Relations
(804) 592-6767
Three new presidents begin work at community colleges

Virginia’s Community Colleges are welcoming three new presidents in August, to replace retiring presidents at John Tyler, Danville and Dabney S. Lancaster community colleges.

Dr. Edward E. “Ted” Raspiller became the 7th president of John Tyler Community College effective Aug. 5.

Raspiller was previously president of the Brazos County Campuses at Blinn College in Bryan, Texas and also directed the Community College Leadership doctoral program at Old Dominion University.

Dr. Bruce R. Scism, joined Danville Community College as president effective Aug. 1.

Scism is currently vice president of academic affairs at Volunteer State Community College in Gallatin, Tennessee.

Dr. John J. Rainone arrived at Dabney S. Lancaster Community College to take the reigns as president in July.

Dr. John J. Rainone to become President of Dabney S. Lancaster Community College

Rainone, of Cape Neddick, Maine, was dean of institutional advancement at York County Community College.